The University of Iowa

Henry County Health Center Foundation

Employer Identification Number (EIN) 


Contact Name 
Mark Hempen
Contact Title 
Foundation Director
Telephone Number 
(319) 385-6541
407 S. White St.
Mount Pleasant, IA 52641
United States

Grant Information

Application Deadline 

With integrity, responsible stewardship, transparency and capacity building, the HCHC Foundation will plan, promote, develop, fund and deliver important health related initiatives for the benefit of individuals and families of Henry County and surrounding areas.

Sample Grants 

2019 Grant Award Winners

Iowa Wesleyan University, $3000 to upgrade nursing simulating equipment; Mount Pleasant Public Library, $2000 for purchase of health-related books for children; Henry County Public Health, $750 for newborn home visits; Young House/Christamore Family Treatment Center, $1000 for ongoing initiatives; Bridges out of Poverty, $2500 for Workplace Stability Initiative; Mount Pleasant Community School District, $750 for construction of walking path around Van Allen School. 

Application Information 

The implementation of the HCHC Foundation Grant Program and funding health projects which benefit individuals and families is one example of how committed the Foundation is to improving the welfare of our citizens. Through this program, the Foundation seeks to support the development and delivery of important health related initiatives for the benefit of residents of Henry County and surrounding areas.

The Foundation funds projects in six health related priority areas: 1) Science and Technology, 2) Health Education, 3) Health Programming, 4) Workforce Development, 5) Workforce Recruitment and 6) Capacity Building. Those seeking funds should submit a Letter of Intent briefly outlining the objectives of the proposed project no later than 60 days prior to the application due date.  Invitations to apply will follow.

For additional details and copies of the grant application contact HCHC Foundation, Mark Hempen at 319/385-6541 or email


Michelle Tansey (President)

Heidi Ryon (Vice President)

Tom Holtkamp (Secretary/Treasurer)

Grant Sizes: 
$25,000, $350,000


Date of latest financial data 
Sep 2019
Grant Classification: 
NTEE Classification: