The University of Iowa


Northwest Area Foundation

Our mission is to support efforts by the people, organizations, and communities of our eight-state region to reduce poverty and achieve sustainable prosperity. The eight-state region of the Northwest Area Foundation includes: Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Montana, Idaho,...

Application Deadline 

We fund organizations that break down systemic barriers so that our priority communities can achieve economic prosperity and thrive on their own terms. Our grantees and mission investments advance impact within one or more of four funding portfolios: Access capitol, work opportunity, enterprise development, and financial inclusion.

For more information on the application process, see the FAQ page and the For Grantseekers page.

If questions, contact Cody Stalker, program coordinator at 651-225-3888.

Leighty Foundation, The

Our mission is to carry on the Leighty family legacy of service and stewardship by leveraging our time and talents, as well as our financial resources, primarily in the areas of earth protection, education, promotion of volunteer engagement and philanthropy.

Application Deadline 

To make initial contact, applicants are to submit a one-page letter to the Leighty Foundation including the following information: the mission of the applicant organization, the specific need(s) to be addressed, the intended outcome of the endeavor, and the size of the grant requested.

No submission deadline.

Submit application to: Nancy Waterman, Managing Director, PO Box 20993, Juneau, AK 99802.
Telephone: 907-586-1426

For further details and guidelines, see the Leighty Foundation website.